Project Structure for Projects in Qt Creator with Unit Tests

Abstract

For this post I will be proposing a project structure in Qt Creator that allows you to have your unit tests project with your main project.

Intro

If you think this post looks familiar, you have probably gone through a similar post from Svenn-Arne Dragly. This project is actually a simpler fork of his, so credits to him.

Why fork out from Dragly’s project structure? (you can skip to the next part if you want.)

I had to build out a library file – this is a bit of a hassle to me. In addition the example in github ( https://github.com/FSund/qtcreator-project-structure) didn’t work either:

LNK1104: cannot open file 'myapp.lib'.

It’s because I’m using the MSVC2013 compiler and it only builds out a *.dll and forgot a *.lib. Turns out I have to add __declspec( dllexport ) as so:

class MyClass {
public:
     __declspec( dllexport )  double addition(double a, double b);
};

Even so it still asks for the *.lib file, despite it already being built. I had to explicitly add the path to the external library, and then place the compiled *.dll in the same directory as the executable. I guess, if I specify a common build directory and have it look for the lib file there it would work… but think about this: __declspec( dllexport ) is microsoft specific. If I run the same code in linux it spits out an error. I could use some macros to check for what compiler is being used, but it’s a hassle (to me, at least).

So if you only intend to develop using a particular compiler that’s fine. I just figured I wanted something more straightforward.

Project Structure

The approach I came up with involves compiling some/most of your code twice, but it was what I stick to in the end for a test project I was working on (Click here to download an empty template) :

Project Directory:
 │       DrawingApp.pro
 │
 ├───app -> source code
 │       app.pro
 │       AbstractGroup.hpp
 │       ActiveSelection.cpp
 │       ActiveSelection.hpp
 │       Canvas.cpp
 |       ...
 │
 ├───build -> build directory
 │       DrawingApp.exe
 │
 ├───lib -> libraries
 │       catch.hpp
 │
 └───tests -> test project, which you only add files from the 'app' folder that you want to test
         tests.pro
         TestMain.cpp -> DO NOT call this main.cpp! It will clash with your main.cpp in the 'app' folder, even though they are in separate directories.
         CommandStackTest.cpp
         ...

You can see a real life example in my github project: https://github.com/bruceoutdoors/DrawingApp – I will be referring to this project so do keep a tab open.

It will look something like this in Qt creator:

2015-05-30 14_13_55-defaults.pri - MyProject - Qt Creator

This might be a hassle for some, because you would have to add the source files into the unit test project every time you created a new class. Otherwise the unit test project will fail to build and you’d likely confuse it to your actual project not building.

But that was just because I wasn’t really doing TDD. I created the source files before I write the unit tests. Well, it’s a drawing app; I can’t unit test drawing capabilities right?

Loose Coupling, Tight Coupling

After initial frustrations of using this structure, I realized doing it this way does disciplines a programmer to think about coupling. After a while it had me asked questions like “If I just want to test object A, should I need to also depend on object B and C? Can object A be isolated and used separately?”.

Great software design meant loose coupling; only when necessary should objects be bundled together. Otherwise they should be able to be packaged, isolated, reused, and unit tested separately.

This is why the tests.pro file contains significantly less files compared to app.pro.

Calling headers in different directories

Notice, that for example in the DrawingApp project, that a fileio/JsonFileReader.hpp is able to call interfaces/IFileReader.hpp by just

#include "IFileReader.hpp"

This isn’t default behaviour as in codeblocks, I had to manually configure this in the project file for both app.pro and tests.pro:

INCLUDEPATH += \
 $$PWD \
 interfaces \
 commands \
 tools \
 shapes \
 fileio

Tedious maybe, but a small inconvenience to me. I wasn’t sure if Qt Creator has a setting to make this default behaviour, but this is what I can come up with.

A Note on Catch

This single header unit test framework is too easy and convenient not to use. The TestMain.cpp simply needs to contain

#define CATCH_CONFIG_MAIN

#include "catch.hpp"

and then you can start adding separate test *.cpp files for each class (or however you want to structure your tests).

If you haven’t tried it out I highly recommend you do.

Conclusion

Think there can be a better way? I’m open to ideas.

You can download an empty template project from here: Click here to download an empty template.

 

Leave a Reply

